BEECS about us

About the British Emergency Eye Care Society

Facilitate best practice in emergency eye care provision and promote excellence in patient care

Formalise training and career opportunities for all practitioners and encourage collaborative working practices

 To provide a forum for the purpose of sharing resources, knowledge and experience

To establish wider recognition of  Emergency Eye Care as a sub-speciality

To promote and support research in emergency eye care

The Committee

BEECS President

Felipe Dhawahir-Scala, MB BS FRCSEd LMS

Consultant Ophthalmologist and Vitreoretinal Surgeon.

Director of the Acute Ophthalmic Services.

Manchester Royal Eye Hospital



Amy-lee Shirodkar, MBChB MD FRCOphth

Consultant Ophthalmologist Emergency & General Ophthalmology

Wirral University Teaching Hospitals


Sarah Anderson, MBChB FRCOphth

Consultant ophthalmologist, emergency eye care lead

York Hospital



Polly Dickerson, FRCOphth, MBBS, iBSc, PG Cert in education & simulation

Consultant in Oculoplastics and Emergency eye care

York and Scarborough Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust


Ben While, MBBS MRCS(Eng) FRCOphth

Consultant Ophthalmologist

Wye Valley Trust, Hereford

Committee Member

Freddy Beer, MB BS BSc

Consultant Ophthalmologist

Portsmouth University Hospitals NHS Trust

Committee Member

Ian De Silva, FRCOphth MBChB MCOptom BSC (hons)

Consultant Ophthalmologist

University Hospitals Leicester NHS trust

Trainee Representative

Romeela Rana-Rahman, MB BS

Ophthalmology Specialty Registrar

Nursing Representative

Francine Walsh

Advanced Nurse Practitioner

Royal Bolton Hospital

Optometry Representative

Helen Wilson, MCOptom Dip OC Dip GLauc Dip Tp(IP)

Principal Optometrist Acute Services

Manchester Royal Eye Hospital


Optometry Representative

Ryan Desai, MCOptom Dip Tp(IP) Prof Cert Glauc

Clinical Lead Optometrist for Eye Casualty and Cornea

University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire


Honorary Committee Members

Seema Verma, MB BS MD FRCOphth

Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon with special interest in Emergency Eye care St Thomas’ Hospital, London


Lead for Ophthalmology for South East London Acute Provider Collaborative


John Buchan, MB BS MD FRCOphth
John Buchan, MB BS MD FRCOphth

Assistant Professor - International Centre for Eye Health, LSHTM
Consultant Ophthalmologist

Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Lucy Clarke, MBBS MRCS FEBO FRCOphth

Head of Eye Emergency Department, Clinical lead for Oculoplastics, Deputy head of department

Dilani Siriwardena, MBBS FRCOphth

Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon, Moorfields Deputy Medical Director and NHS London Region Clinical Director for Ophthalmology

British Emergency Eye Care Society Constitution & Aims

BEECS Constitution – updated version 2021.11.21

“The British Emergency Eye Care Society (BEECS) was founded in 2013 as a not-for-profit organisation with the aim of bringing together practitioners in the United Kingdom who provide acute ophthalmology services within their institutions.  The inaugural meeting was held at the Royal College of Ophthalmologists on 18 October 2013.”

The aims of the Society are:

  • To facilitate best practice in emergency eye care provision and promote excellence in patient care
  • To establish wider recognition of Emergency Eye Care as a sub-speciality
  • To provide a forum for the purpose of sharing resources, knowledge and experience.
  • To promote and support research in emergency eye care.
  • To formalise training and career opportunities for all ophthalmologists and encourage collaborative working practices


Committee Members

  • Committee membership will be open to all NHS hospital eye service practitioners.
  • Prospective members will submit their proposal of membership by email to the current BEECS president or Secretary and if eligible will be invited to join the committee as a guest member for months. At the end of this period, membership will be formalised if approved by a majority of the executive committee. Members of the committe are expected to attend a majority of committee meetings, or to stand down temporarily or permanently if unable to do so.


Executive Offices

  • It was agreed that the society needed a small committee of executive officers. In the first instance these will be held for 3-5 years to facilitate continuity during the initial phase of the society.
  • After this the officers will be held for a period of 2 years, renewable once.
  • The office appointments of treasurer, secretary, president and vice president will be held by an Ophthalmologist on the specialist register.
  • Prospective executive officers will be elected at the annual general meeting, having been nominated and seconded by any member (one of whom must be a committee member).
  • Only members who are present at the AGM (i.e. not just committee members) will be eligible to cast a vote.
  • President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary



Other committee members will include:

  • Annual meeting organiser(s)
  • Trainee Representative for two years (renewable)
  • Optometry representative for two years (renewable)
  • Nursing representative for two years (renewable)

For a BEECS meeting to be considered quorate, at least five committee members need to be present at least two of whom are executive committee members. For changes in the constitution, the majority of the committee has to be present including at least three executive committee members and the decision to change the constitution should be unanimous amongst those present, and there should be no known objections from the absent executive member.




Inclusion Criteria - It was agreed that members must be currently providing regular emergency eye care in a secondary care setting

This updated constitution was agreed unanimously by the BEECS committee including all executive committee members.



Find out more